By using our site you accept the terms of our cookie policy



What is the Architecture Awards?

Shaping the built environment is a tough challenge for anyone, and the architects, designers and innovators across the architecture market have an important role to play in transforming the way we see the world. We have been spurred on by the success of last years’ awards, and again we are looking to recognise only the best that this incredible and expansive industry has to offer.

The 2017 Architecture Awards have been put in place to highlight the amazing work done by the talented designers, artists and visionaries whose talent and innovation have created talking points that will span generations.

Who can be nominated?

Geography and business size are not a consideration; we only want to hear about the very best of the best, no matter whether they are a sole trader in a small town or a multinational corporation with offices in the world’s largest cities. It is not just architects who are eligible for the programme, everyone involved in the industry can be voted for, from architectural technologists, products suppliers, software developers and more. Everyone is welcome in this renowned programme: only excellence is important.


We opened our voting form globally at the beginning of February and invited our 110,000 worldwide subscribers to nominate and circulate voting details. All nominees via the voting form are contacted to ask permission to continue to our research and judging phases.

All the candidates that have been nominated for the program have either been put forward by BUILD News (these tend to be firms that we have worked with or profiled recently), or via a third party via our online voting form. Self-nominations are also accepted.

At the point of nomination, we do not ask the individual filling in the form to disclose their details. Tried and tested over the years, we have found that response rates shoot up when the process remains anonymous. Because of this, we do not use the total number of votes as a factor in determining the winners.

Nomination accepted, what happens next?

Once a nomination is accepted, the nominated party will be moved on to our shortlist. Shortlisted parties are encouraged to put forward supporting materials via our optional questionnaire. This is the perfect opportunity to put forward any projects or services you’d like our judging panel to take into consideration. Putting forward projects isn’t always compulsory, as our judging panel also recognise companies and individuals for their portfolios.

Our in-house research team will begin to research the shortlisted party extensively online. This will include any relevant information found on public domain sources (such as press releases, client/customer testimonials, social media presence, etc.).

Who judges?

The Architecture Awards are judged by our highly experienced panel. It consists of an international, multi-lingual collective of individuals, with backgrounds from a myriad of fields such as business, media, journalism, history and European languages. The panel is led by a veteran academic leader with international pedagogic & coaching experience who is well versed in research, fact-checking and mediation; allowing the panel to operate with efficacy and dependability.

The costs?

As with all our awards there are no costs in accepting a nomination, nor if you go on to win. We have a highly experienced editorial department who will be producing the annual winners’ magazine, inclusion in which is optional. All winners, as part of our group’s philosophy are entitled to complimentary celebration items so that regardless of budget, or company policy, the award and our seal of approval can be strategically maximised.

Any further information can be supplied on demand, feel free to get in touch with the programme coordinator, Kaven Cooper.

Receive BUILD 4 times a year for FREE!

Contact Us

+44 (0) 203 725 6841