By using our site you accept the terms of our cookie policy


Architecture Awards 2018 – FAQ

January 16, 2018


What is the Architecture Awards?

Shaping the built environment is a tough challenge for anyone, and the architects, designers and innovators across the architecture market have an important role to play in transforming the way we see the world. We have been spurred on by the success of our previous Architecture Awards, and again we are striving to recognise only the best that this incredible and expansive industry has to offer.

The 2018 Architecture Awards return for the fourth consecutive year to highlight the amazing work done by the talented designers, artists and visionaries whose talent and innovation have created talking points that will span generations.

Who can be nominated?

Geography and business size are not a consideration; we only want to hear about the very best of the best, no matter whether they are a sole trader in a small town, or a multinational corporation with offices in the world’s largest cities. It is not just architects who are eligible for the programme, everyone involved in the industry can be nominated, from architectural technologists, product suppliers, software developers and more. Everyone is welcome in this renowned programme; only excellence is important.


Our voting form was opened globally at the beginning of 2018, and we invited our 110,000 worldwide readership to nominate and circulate voting details. All nominees via the voting form are contacted to ask permission to continue to our research and judging phases.

All the candidates that have been nominated for the program have either been put forward by BUILD News (these tend to be firms that we have worked with or profiled recently), or via a third party via our online voting form. Self-nominations are also accepted.

At the point of nomination, we do not ask the individual filling in the form to disclose their details. Tried and tested over the years, we have found that response rates shoot up when the process remains anonymous. Because of this, we do not use the total number of votes as a factor in determining the winners.

Nomination accepted, what happens next?

Once a nomination is accepted, the nominated party will be moved on to our shortlist. Shortlisted parties are encouraged to put forward supporting materials via our optional questionnaire. This is the perfect opportunity to put forward any projects or services you’d like our judging panel to take into consideration. Putting forward projects isn’t always compulsory, as our judging panel also recognise companies and individuals for their portfolios.

Our in-house research team will begin to research the shortlisted party extensively online. This will include any relevant information found on public domain sources (such as press releases, client/customer testimonials, social media presence, etc.).

What projects can be considered?

Our judging panel will only consider projects completed within the past 12-18 months when selecting specific projects for awards. The following factors will be considered when selected a project:

 - Quality of the project – how much did the project stick to the original plan? This will usually          be via information submitted regarding the client/customer’s original brief and plan

 - Design – How is the project presented? Aesthetically, how does this project differ to others in      this sector?

 - Outcome – Did the project fulfil expectations? How did clients/customers/media/public              react  and respond to the project?

 - Visual presentation – How it looks - How it’s designed - Does it appeal to the targeted                  audience?

 - Timing – Did the project keep within the agreed timeframes and planning dates?

 - Sustainability – With an impetus on sustainable and environmentally-design, how does the           project live up to modern expectations?

Who judges?

The Architecture Awards are judged by our highly experienced panel. It consists of an international, multi-lingual collective of individuals, with backgrounds from a myriad of fields such as business, media, journalism, history and European languages. The panel is led by a veteran academic leader with international pedagogic & coaching experience who is well versed in research, fact-checking and mediation; allowing the panel to operate with efficacy and dependability.

The costs?

As with all our awards there are no costs in accepting a nomination, nor if you go on to win. We have a highly experienced editorial department who will be producing the exclusive annual winners’ magazine, inclusion in which is optional. All winners, as part of our group’s philosophy are entitled to complimentary celebration items so that regardless of budget, or company policy, the award and our seal of approval can be strategically maximised.

Receive BUILD 4 times a year for FREE!

Contact Us

+44 (0) 203 725 6841